Balancing Acts.

My body is at war with my brain.

Some Possibly-Relevent Background Information: A few months ago, I had a four-day migraine from hell. Anyone who experiences migraines knows that ALL MIGRAINES ARE FROM HELL, but there are some that are from a deeper circle of hell than others. The worst Dante could produce brought me this particular migraine. ANywho. On day four of this migraine, I was eating dinner with my family, and trying not to laugh at the funny thing Chuck said because I was mad at him, when half of my face stopped functioning. Literally. The right side of my face was paralyzed. There was a trip to the hospital (my immediate thoughts were that I was having a stroke), where they ran a bunch of expensive imaging tests and told me that I did not have any bleeding in my brain, nor did I have a tumor, but I seemed to have Bell’s Palsy. I spent the next two weeks in doctor’s offices, trying to confirm the diagnosis. During this process, other concerns came up…such as the possibility of Multiple Sclerosis, or a cancer, or a tumor someplace outside of my brain, or a hormone imbalance, or out-of-control anxiety, or a combination of some or all of these things. We are still trudging through the game that is Musical Diagnoses, running tests my insurance doesn’t cover and avoiding running better, more expensive tests that my insurance doesn’t cover. Woot. Anyway. The purpose of this italicized segment was to explain why I am in pain all the time — that is, for reasons unbeknownst to me and possibly you, as well.

I am in Week Two of the Spring semester. We survived Week One. I would like to take a moment and tell you how STOKED I am for the rest of the semester. My classes rock. Well. Most of my classes rock. It has been a very long time since I have been this pleased with my course load. The reading lists for my literature classes are amazing, and have served as a sign from Karma itself that I am being rewarded for choosing a discipline I love.

My classes are brain-food, and my brain is thrilled at the possibility of being sated.

Of course, it only follows that because I am being intellectually satisfied, my body has to revolt. Couldn’t be a whole, happy human being now, could we. Nope. I spend one moment in a state of brain-bliss, and then I am yanked back to Corporealville by intense amounts of random, currently-inexplicable pain.

Is it too much to ask for a little balance?

****

In other news, I learned today that I could possibly graduate in a year. I was planning on at least two-and-a-half more years before I could graduate with my Bachelor’s degree. However, even with my minor, there is a possibility that I could finish up next spring.

In the 2.5-more-years world, I was headed straight from my undergrad to pursuing my graduate degree(s). However, if I am going to be done with my undergrad work in one year, I think I want to take some time off from school.

Travel? See some other segment of the planet?

We’ll see. It’s both exciting and terrifying, to think of life after my Bachelor’s degree has been completed.

I don’t know if I’m ready to grow up.

Leave a Reply

