Resolve.

I hate New Year’s Resolutions.

Every year, I make three lists of resolutions. I have resolutions I’m supposed to make, resolutions I need to make, and resolutions I want to make. Resolutions I’m supposed to make are things like: I will lose ten pounds. Need to make looks like…I will sleep for more than five hours a night. Resolutions I want to make? I will take a semester off of school and travel around Europe. I will…be impulsive. Do something stupid.

I hate resolutions. Every year, three bulleted lists of ways in which I will fail to change my life. More things to panic over. More reasons to feel defeated and worthless.

So, this year, I’ve resolved to not make any resolutions. Except that one. No resolutions.

Here’s to a 2013 that is better than 2012 was.

Leave a Reply

