Visions of Sugarplums

I found a new hobby. Nut-cracking.

I mean that in the most literal sense. Almonds. Hazelnuts. Walnuts.

I had never used a nutcracker before. We’re not talking the dancing Tchaikovsky kind. We’re talking this kind:

In my mother’s neighborhood, there are many neighbors who exchange Christmas gifts with one another. Said neighbors often give things such as popcorn, cookies, or 2-liter bottles of Sprite. Mom gives people things like homemade fudge, or Chex mix made according to her dad’s delicious recipe. This year, someone gave Mom a bag of nuts…the unshelled kind.

I took it upon myself to crack some. And oh my goodness, I just found the greatest stress-reliever.

Now, I need to find a way to roast the shelled ones, or something, so that they taste decent. 🙂

*****

In other news, I continue to have Supernatural marathons, with my brothers.

I seriously have NO IDEA why it took me so long to start watching this show.

*****

Also, everyone should check out abebooks.com for all their book-buying needs. Today’s awesome story? I bought a textbook that, according to the campus bookstore website, cost $125. On abebooks.com, I got it for $41. Hooray!

Aaaand…that is my plug for the day.

Bye for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

